Logging wheels with horse display
Ludington's Lumbering Era
by Unknown
The sculpture represents Michigan logging wheels and the lumbering industry of the late nineteenth and early twentieth-century. It shows a horse pulling logs as a typical Ludington event of that time period as its lumber industry played a historical role on the Great Lakes. The large stone display has Ludington's history etched into the wall. It explains how James Ludington set up a mill and lumber industry in 1859. The hamlet settlement changed its name from Pere Marquette to become the town of Ludington. The town was plotted out then and not only bear Ludington's names, but the names of his siblings and prominent lumber barons of the area at the time. The etched history goes on to explain that Ludington prospered because of the local lumber industry. It explains that a harbor was developed to allow large quantities of lumber shipments to go out of the port. There were fourteen mills operating around Pere Marquette Lake at the height of production. They thought that there was an unlimited amount of timber to harvest into lumber, however in less than forty years all the woods were cut down. The etched history on the stone wall explains that the local lumber industry had come to an end in 1917. Dimensions: 11 ft tall Medium: Bronze
Location 391 S William St, Ludington, MI 49431
Tours Featuring This Artwork

Download the app for on the go tours of your town's public art